The Region

Australia’s longest river, the mighty Murray River, is the heartbeat
of South Australia’s Riverland region.

With a Mediterranean climate of warm, dry summers and a relatively mild winter, a population of approximately 35,000 people live and work across the five major towns of Barmera, Berri, Loxton, Renmark and Waikerie, calling the Riverland their home.

Through our key industry sectors of viticulture, horticulture, citrus, stone fruit, almond production, dryland farming and tourism, the Riverland is a major economic contributor within the state and nationally.

Located just over 2 hours north east of Adelaide and 90 minutes west of Mildura, the region is home to a number of medical services, hospitals, schools and learning facilities, aged care facilities, service sectors, and shopping precincts.

Encompassing 9386km2 the Riverland is serviced by three innovative and progressive local government councils; District Council of Loxton Waikerie, Berri Barmera Council and Renmark Paringa Council. Several state and federal government departments and services are located in Berri including Medicare, Centrelink, Service SA and the region’s impressive Riverland General Hospital.

South Australia’s Riverland offers exceptional opportunities and an enviable quality of life.